The Latest from the NanoCenter

« Back to News List

Cathy Murphy wins ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award 2011

March 03, 2011

Cathy Murphy is the Peter C. and Gretchen Miller Markunas Professor of Chemistry at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. From 1993-2009 Professor Murphy was a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of South Carolina and a member of the NanoCenter.

Professor Murphy's research is at the interface of materials chemistry, inorganic chemistry, biophysical chemistry and nanotechnology. Her research group develops inorganic nanomaterials for biological and energy-related applications, and probes the chemical interactions of these nanomaterials with their surroundings.

This award, sponsored by the University of South Carolina NanoCenter, is meant to recognize sustained excellence, dedication, and perseverance in research in the area of inorganic nanoscience. The award consists of $3000 made out to the winner, as well as a plaque to be presented to the recipient at the Fall ACS meeting. Recipients are expected to be at the mid-career stage.